Write first, edit later

August 5, 2011 at 9:06 am 5 comments

One of the first pieces of advice that writing teachers give is to WRITE. There will always be plenty of time for editing later.

That’s a difficult lesson for someone like me, whose mind is constantly turning. There have been many times that I’ve sat down to write, and proceeded to test and trash a handful of ideas in my head without ever putting a single word on the page. That’s a very bad habit. This blog has helped me break it.

That said, it’s with chagrin that I go back and read these posts, seeing things that could benefit from some tweaking, but I just tell my internal editor to go sit in the corner and leave me alone to keep writing.

Thanks to you, readers, for following me on these stream-of-consciousness journeys. More next week!

Entry filed under: Editorial.

Cornflower’s New Name – p.13 Raven and the French Fry Dilemma – p.1

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Craig T Adams  |  August 5, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Good advice. Glad you’re taking it. Internal Editor will just have to wait her turn. Your stream-of-consciousness is wonderful – way more entertaining and organized than most I’ve seen – especially my own. I’ll happily drink from your stream-of-consciousness any day of the week. Refreshing, nourishing and life-sustaining! A delight!:)

    Reply
  • 2. Craig T Adams  |  August 5, 2011 at 9:57 am

    And tell your Internal Editor to “chagrin and bear it.” I just thought of that. Use it with my blessing. (I am the King of the “Way-Homer.” Afterthought is better than no thought at all, I suppose.):D

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah (Craig Adams' friend)  |  August 5, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Your writing is such a great gift, I am thrilled each time I see an email alert that there is a fresh installment waiting to be unwrapped and savored. So glad you started the blog and that you are pursuing your gifts in this venue. Thank you for the playful and visionary stories that you share! Sarah

    Reply
  • 4. Pam Breeding  |  August 5, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Don’t start second-guessing anything. Your stories are wonderful and refreshing. DO NOT PUT A STOPPER IN YOUR BOTTLE OF DREAMS! Let them flow freely. xoxo

    Reply
  • 5. Carmen Kaligaris  |  August 18, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    I wish I could shut MY Internal Editor up. You’re awesomesauce, K.G.S. XD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

Author


