Lady Silver of the Spring – p.19

May 14, 2012 at 4:42 pm 1 comment

The goblin paced as he talked. “For breaking my curse, and allowing she whom I had loved since her birth to be freed to marry another, you shall live in my castle for all time, Lady Silver.” He turned his back to them. “You can choose to live here as a prisoner, or as its ruler…at my side.”

Melinda had finally found her voice. “Loved me? Loved me? You tried to trick me into becoming a fish-woman and then condemned me to eternity as a hag! What can a hideous scab like you know of love?”

“Silence!” The goblin held up a hand but kept his back to them. “An eternity it should have been, since you still have learned nothing of humility. Perhaps your union with the man-boy will serve to do so, since his spirit has also stagnated. Now, my Lady, I await your answer.”

The girl felt as if the blood in her veins had frozen. She had never expected to be freed from the spring, but when she breathed the air again she was filled with hope. She could not conceive of life in a castle, either as its mistress or a prisoner, but only with one path would any hope remain.

“I choose to rule.”

Entry filed under: Story #7 - Lady Silver of the Spring. Tags: , , .

Lady Silver of the Spring – p.18 Lady Silver of the Spring – p.20

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

Author


