Review #1 – I am Raven

August 7, 2012 at 2:03 pm 3 comments

A co-worker recently loaned me her copy of David Bouchard’s award-winning children’s book, I am Raven, and being a lifelong fan and student of American Indian cultures, I was instantly enchanted. (Of course, I’m a Raven, too!)

I am Raven by David Bouchard

I am Raven by David Bouchard
Illustrated by Andy Everson

The author tells the tale of a great chief who is building a totem pole as a legacy for his village. He is visited by many animals, each of whom shower him with gifts in hopes that their likeness and spirit will be represented on the new totem pole. The animals all offer a glimpse into the powers they represent in the native pantheon, and give examples of how they help the chief and other “two-leggeds” throughout life. The art is just as lovely as the story, with a calming palette of evening landscapes and big, full moon skies. Moon is just as important a guide as any animal, by the way. There is a fantastic section at the back of the book listing a dozen other totems who didn’t make it into the story. Children would have fun trying to decide which one might best represent them, their friends, and their family members.

“If at night, before you close your eyes to travel to your dream time, if then you picture one of your wild cousins to whom you might ask guidance or give thanks, what would it be?”

Who is your animal guide?

Entry filed under: Review. Tags: , , , .

Cedar Stormchaser – p.22 Moksha – p.1

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lady Red  |  August 7, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    I’ve always felt the wolf to be my animal totem. Just found out through some searching that the falcon is my Native American zodiac sign. I missed the wolf sign by a week. And you, sib, are a deer.

    Reply
  • 3. Craig T. Adams  |  August 7, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    In another zodiac, I am a dragon, and many of the puppet characters I have created are dragons. I have at many times in my life felt a great affinity toward the wolf. I may, however have the otter as my totem. I have always loved otters and would be delighted with that. In my dreams I often see and see through the eyes and spirits of mice and birds. I love that birds fly and I love that mice are small and easily go unnoticed and therefor un-bothered by the noisy giants around them. I look forward to reading this book. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

Author


